So lets get this started. What did you think about the FRM exam and how can I prepare you better?

*Note: GARP forbids the discussion of individual questions. I am talking about your impressions of exam length, difficulty, focus, or other unexpected elements.

Part I here.

Incredibly difficult. I thought I’d be good with time management but apparently I was wrong. I managed to get through everything but not as quickly as I hoped. Some topics that were covered more frequently were a bit of a shock, as I didn’t stumble upon those questions as much during the practice tests.

Part 2. The exam was much harder than practice tests. The questions and answer choices felt unfair and unreasonable, very poorly designed with a lot of focus on minutiae. Almost seemed like whoever wrote the exam opened up 4 random pages in the curriculum, grabbed 4 random sentences and changed a few words up, and lined them up as the answer choices. My background is comfortable pass on all 3 CFA exams on first attempts (each with under 300 hrs of studying – yes, I keep track) and top quartile in all parts of FRM Part 1 (under 150hrs), and so I like to think (perhaps I’m too arrogant here) that I have a decent sense of how to study for these exams and what it takes to squeak out a comfortable pass. On this exam it simply felt like there was no way to possibly understand enough of the material in 250 hours to pass comfortably – granted, I only studied about 175, but I’m not sure an extra 80 would help all that much. I could identify problems I might be getting wrong as I was doing practice tests, but on today’s exam there was so much ambiguity I think it’s 50/50 now as to whether I pass.

@Marcos what all resources did you use for study. Wiley…GARP books…BT…schweser??

@Macro

Just Schweser. Schweser matched FRM Part 1 exam difficulty very well. There is so much reading in Part 2 that I honestly think prep provider choice doesn’t matters that much – study habits and efficacy matter more.