Mineral Rights Land Lease Rates

My uncle owns about 150 acres in east Texas and just received an offer to lease the mineral rights. I know there is gas on the property, and surrounding properties have oil.

I was asked to evaluate the deal, but I don’t have any knowledge of what fair rates are. Does anyone who works in the industry or perhaps prepares taxes for land owners have any insight on this offer?

$400 per acre plus 3/16 royalty.

Is that a lowball or a good deal?

What county is he in? There can be substantial differences from county-to-county. $400/acre is generally pretty low.

Get out the drilling rigs and drill it yourself! :slight_smile: A surface only lease in my neck of the woods is going to run you north of $1k/acre, and as much as $3k/acre, but I have zero knowledge of Texas and we don’t own mineral rights here, so that’s just the right to access, drill and produce. Not apples to apples unfortunately. Our royalty rates are higher as well (to the Crown).

Thanks for the insight. The property is in Fayette County, so not too far east.

Oh wow, I thought you were more east. Fayette is right on the eastern edge of the Eagle Ford Shale. I believe Apache Corp. has some acreage there and has done some drilling around there. If you go southwest from Fayette county about 60 miles you’re on the hotspot of the play. Encana Corp (geo is probably quite familiar with them) just completed an acquisition paying 3.1B for 46k acres in Karnes and Wilson counties (as a land owner you won't get near that /acre, but it’s just a reference for the economic value to companies). Big money but production there is quite good.