I want to get smarter on biotechs

Can anybody recommend any resources to help me learn about the biotech industry? I am specifically interested in learning information about the various stages of pipeline drugs such as what kind of testing is available at each stage and the hoops they have to jump through to get approval. Another important concept is the patenting process and what the various types of patents will ultimately protect. Finally, I am interested in learning about the valuation of both pipeline drugs and those with approval.

I have extensive experience with modeling and M&A, but I am outside of the biotech industry. Through advice from a long-term investor in Medivation (MDVN), I jumped into the stock back in February without really understanding fully what I was invested in. I want to have a better understanding of my investment next time around.

Take a bunch of experimental drugs. The ones that don’t harm you, go long. The ones with nasty side effects, short.