11 ways to Fake Work like everyone else in your office (Wall Street Oasis)

11 ways to Fake Work like everyone else in your office By minibar, 7/11/12 at 3:28pm http://www.wallstreetoasis.com/blog/11-ways-to-fake-work-like-everyone-else-in-your-office

Everyone’s on vacation. You’ve pretty much done minimal work the last week because you were celebrating your independence. Let’s face it, you’ve probably checked out since memorial day weekend and now begins the long stretch towards labor day weekend and the end of the lazy summer. With most colleagues on vacation, it’s pretty difficult to get much done during the summer - but you’re stuck behind a desk anyway. So how do you keep busy and stay underneath the radar, while doing as little as possible?

I’m by no means a pro, but here’s a list of tricks I’ve picked up and have seen others execute masterfully along the way. These tricks are almost as powerful as Ben Bernanke’s eyebrows, so please, use wisely or else you’ll ruin it for the rest us. • Always have a few spreadsheets up This one can be tweaked, depending on your job, but the key here is to always look like to you’re plugging away at some document. You could be working on a personal budget spreadsheet or a comprehensive list of local bars and happy hour list. It doesn’t matter, just keep your desktop covered with things that look like work.

• Take notes Take notes furiously. Keep a notebook open and glance up at your spreadsheets and then jot down a few fake notes. Everyone will surely think, “man, they’re writing up a storm, better not disturb, I’ll come back later”

• Block off some time on your calendar This is one I use year round. I don’t like Monday morning meetings and I certainly don’t like a meeting on a Friday after 2pm - so I block off some time in outlook. Bingo Bango, no one tries to book those slots. Put a few of those on your calendar - use sparingly and in combination with the next tip.