Cutting cable

Decided to cut cable. Hate the majority of the channels, plus I detest my cable provider. Before I do, what is the best way to watch TV without cable? Get a Roku and stream all the best shows thru Netflix, Huluplus etc. I have always had cable so I am a bit of a novice in this area. Any help would be much appreciated before I officially cut the cord.

Many devices allow you to watch Netflix, Hulu, HBO, etc. on your TV. Generally, here are some guidelines:

1. If you want to play games also, get Xbox One or PS4. (~$400).

2. Otherwise, if you own an iPad or iPhone and want to stream media from those devices, get Apple TV ($100).

3. Otherwise, get Roku ($50 to $100).

All these devices will give you the same access to streaming video providers. The difference is cost and extra functionality.

Bonus option: If you buy a new TV, it might come with “smart” features that will let you connect to Netflix etc. without peripheral devices. However, these things tend to not function well (Samsung Smart Hub, for instance, is prone to failure) so you might want to get a separate device anyway.

I dont have cable, I have a Roku 3, PS4, iPad and Nexus 7… I probably use them all equal amounts.

I use netflix and mlb.tv for baseball (only thing I really care about) and eztv.it to watch my non-netflix shows. I use Plex media server to stream the shows from computer to my tablet or tv (normally tablet though).

You’ll be fine- only thing that sucks is when a baseball game is blacked out b/c its televised locally. Also, you can get an over-the-air HD antenna to watch CBS, NBC, ABC & etc for free. There’s also an app called Aereo to stream these nationally broadcast channels for free but I dont think its avaialble in all areas yet.

I honestly don’t know why you would pay for cable when you can get Netflix or torrent anything you would want to watch. I don’t even have a TV, I just watch everything on my huge ass epic win 39" monitor (100x100 Excel capability, omfg).