Learning French

Can anyone recommend a good book to self-teach French?

Go to your local college and hire a hot tutor. Well worth the $20/hour.

Le francais n’est pas une langue facile a apprendre. Bonne chance!

BTW, each time I visit California (I have family there) and purposely speak french, it instantly grabs the attention of HCBs

If you are not in a hurry to grab some basic French, I recommend “Panorama: Methode de Francais”. Another good series is Le Nouvel Espaces; however, personally I think Panorama is better in case of self teaching French. Le Nouvel Espaces series are more advanced compared to Panorama although it teaches us everything from the beginning as well.

The language centers where I studied French switched to other text books such as Campus, Festival, Alter Ago, Le nouveu Taxi… but I like Panorama most. Surprisingly, they didn’t include Le Nouvel Espaces in our studying materials but the book is quite popular among French learners in the place where I live.

For grammar books, I need to check my book shelf to get the exact names…

Hope this helps

I speak precious little French, but, apparently, what little I speak I do with a perfect Parisian accent.

French is easy…and absolutely useless

the local community college or learning annexe at the local university probably has a course

what do want to get out of it ?

be able to read french ? talk french ? both ?

I like the Hugo series (books with CDs), never used the French one (learned in highscool) but their German and Italian are good, more for talking than for the grammar

The Complete Idiots series are also surprisingly good

I can agree with the latter part of that statement. I had to take french in school in Canada despite living in an English speaking city and province. Such a waste of time and energy.

Has anyone used Rosetta Stone?

it helps you get a government job in Canada, not that that’s such a great prize