Aggravation

So…

I’m doing a tax return for a person who has a very large interest in an oil and gas partnership. Said partnership makes up about 80% of his income. Stocks/bonds/funds/interest make up the other 20%. In total, the dude made about $150k on this stuff last year.

Then, as I look at his personal information, I see that he is a 19 year old student.

I realize that this is the way of the world, that some animals are more equal than others. And I know that this will continue for ever and ever, and that I just need to get over it. I also know that comparing yourself to others is a psychologically losing game.

But still, I can’t help but just get a little peeved when I see people that have basically been handed the world on a platter. I have an MBA + CFA + CPA + BS + several years accounting experience and five years in the Marines, and this guy makes more than twice what I make, all through absolutely no merit of his own.

I’m just complaining. Hopefully it makes me feel a little better today.

That’s nothing. I make $5,000/week at home on the Internet. Or, at least, I’m told that I can.

I see a lot of that too, valuing partnership gift interests, most of which are in TX. The merit exist because of the sacrifices from someone from a prior generation. I don’t compare myself to the kid, I compare myself to his grandfather or before. The way I see it, if I make the right choices (not only financially but the ideas and culture I pass along to my son), and make sacrifices, he could be in that situation someday.

To me, it’s not aggrevating, but motivating. If someone can put their heir in such a position, I can too.

In college I once sat next to a dude whose dad is the ruler of a certain asian country. He got handed crazy jobs right out of college.

Greenie - you should be making more than $75k a year.