John Oliver's Last Week Tonight - Retirement Plans

Anyone watched Last Week Tonight? Lol right in line with some of the Private Wealth CFA material we’ve just studied and been tested on.

He shedd a not so great light on some of the issues with retirement plans and financial advisors and the issue of fiduciary duties.

What did you guys think?

Well I’m exempt from fiduciary duty since I got my Bachelor of Financial Advising signed by the Dean of Financery

Link?

I’m investing with Orlando the cat.

In all seriousness, it was a bit upsetting. Any CFA or candidate is obligated to act as a fuduciary (assuming buy side).

I spend some time on reddit.com/r/personalfinance and everyone there is completely up in arms about fees. Like many (mainly younger) people, they believe fees are the first thing you should consider when choosing an investment option. There’s really no reasoning with them. I agree that fees are important, but it’s more of a tiebreaker in my book.

Anyway, retirement plans are going to look a lot different in the years ahead. DOL is forcing prices down and making pretty much everyone a fiduciary.

What 99% of folks don’t understand, even those of us in the business, is plans can’t turn to Vanguard and other passive investmets for 100% of the choices in their plan. Why? Becuase Vanguard and other extremely low cost funds don’t provide revenue sharing. When one of my funds is used in a plan, we reimburse the plan X bps. This helps offset the cost of the plan. Take away all active managers and the company will bear the brunt of the costs instead of the particpants. This may sound like a good idea, but where do you think that money is going to come from? First thing to go…employer matching.

So, do you want to pay and extra 60 bps for a fund, or do you want to lose a few percentage points of employer matching?