Distance running advice?

Ok not really distance, but a friend recently challenged me to run a 5K race with her 3 months from now. A little backdrop - she is in her mid-20s, was a top Division I distance runner in college, and recently ran the NYC Marathon at a 6 minute mile pace. I have 3 kids and the only running I’ve done in the last few years is chasing my kids around the living room. I’m generally in good shape - still have a 6-pack from years of working out 2 hours a day - but running is one of the few things I’m not good at. I just want to train well enough over the next 3 months as to not totally embarrass myself for 3.1 miles. Any runners here have basic advice as to how to get in good running condition in an efficient manner?

Best way to get good at running? Start running.

It ain’t exactly rocket science. You put one foot in front of the other as fast as you can, as long as your lungs and heart can hold up.

Best advice I can give: buy really good shoes (I prefer New Balance for absolutely no reason at all), add extra insoles, and invest in some Thorlo socks.

I have been a competitive distance runner for 27 years… but I was not naturally good at it. Here is how you get good.

Step 1: enjoy running. Run slow and in an envirnoment you enjoy. I don’t care if you are running at a pace so slow that a walker could keep pace. The goal here is to get your mind and body ok with the notion of running for up to an hour.

Step 2: practice running outside your comfort zone. Once a week run, in structured format, at pace significantly uncomfortable for you in intervals of 30sec to 5min. Naturally, your easy pace will start to get faster after a few of these sessions.

Step 3: gradually increase the difficulty in those two areas. Learn to run longer than the race distance at a comfortable pace. Learn to run fast in intervals shorter than the race distance. On race day you should push so you are somewhere in between your easy pace and interval pace.