Fastest 1 miler (on treadmill)?

I did a 6.5 min/mile yest and that’s my personal best. What’s yours?

Personal best was a 5:30min/mile before I studied for Level 2. Studying put me off for awhile and I am working myself back to that point. Just ran 6min/mile this past Sun.

I used to run under 5 minute miles when I was in proper tennis shape. Have not timed one in a while.

Are you serious guys? 1 mile in 5 mins? Usually I am running so damm fast (read: flying) to reach that 6.5 min/mile milestone. It’s probably because of your heights and you must be taking huge strides. I am 5’5".

What I find truly amazing about the best long distance runners is that they can sustain 5 minute miles for 26.2 miles!!! I think the average world class marathon time is somewhere close to 2 hours 15/20 minutes which is about 5 minute miles. Amazing!

^Ya that’s insane. I don’t know how they do that. I usually do a 1:30-2min warmup, run my mile, then for the next 12min or so I do run at an increasing incline while slightly decreasing speed. Then cool down for 2min. I get bored if I stay on for more than 25min. I actually really hate running, but at that speed is so good for cardio.

I used to run 5:20 min miles when I was in cross country as a freshman in high school. I only did track for that one year. That was a long time ago. I haven’t timed myself lately but I can probably only manage a 7 minute mile now. Although I haven’t smoked for the past 3 years, I smoked for 7 years almost a pack per day so that has had an effect on lung capacity. Also at that time, the training regimen was much more intense than my running workouts now.

I did a 5.59 min/mile this Sunday and that’s my personal best till date. I don’t think I can improve any further.

I smell sample bias. I ran a 6:30 mile once…it was downhill…I puked afterward.