Getting a new credit card. Which should I get???

I’ll be starting a job later this month and I’m wondering if anyone has good credit card recommendations. Throughout college I had a VISA but I am leaning toward AMEX for my new card. I had to cancel the card I used in college because I closed my bank account when I graduated. I don’t use credit cards that often. I like to use it for small amounts of money and just pay the balance off each month.

retail financial mags compare these all the time. e.g. http://www.smartmoney.com/personal-finance/debt/comparing-credit-card-offers-9658/ Let us know what you find out. www.google.com also answers these questions.

robber07 Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > I don’t use credit cards that often. I like to > use it for small amounts of money and just pay the > balance off each month. The Fidelity rewards cards might be good for you. (They have high APRs, but that’s irrelevant since you pay them off each month.) You can take advantage of the 1.5-2% cash back they pay you.

debit card

debit card wouldn’t help me build credit

Building credit through a credit card is the biggest scam. What do you need credit for…a house? if so, show up to your bank with a 20% down payment in hand, a history of 2-3 years of timely rent payments, another 100k in the bank/investments, and a job that pays enough so a max of 30% of your monthly income is swallowed up by your mortgage (piti) and they’ll be tripping all over themselves to lend you money at 2-3 points over fed funds. If you still really feel the need to build up your credit (whatever that means), take a loan out on a car and pay it off in 6 months. Stay away from credit cards like the plague!!! Also, for you un-married folks stay away from girls/guys who like credit cards.