how do you choose your stocks?

My questrade account finally got activated and picked 4 stocks that all had strong buy ratings and beta over 2.0 and 30-day correlation pairs less than 0.2. I been following some stocks this way for about 1 month (google finance) and they yielded about 10% for the month. Too bad my acct just got acctivated and i missed on past-month returns. I am new to all this and just wondering how a beginner should choose his stocks. BTW. I find looking at the market from time to time is a nice way to take a study break.

all my money is invested in blow and hookers…