CAIA charterholders, how useful and difficult do you find the charter?

Hello everyone. Was looking at potentially taking the CAIA charter, L1 in Sept. My background is in investment banking (fixed income) on the risk side, so I don’t really deal with alts on a daily basis. I do have the benefit of having gone through both the CFA and FRM curriculums with first-time passes across the board, but I might be doing further studies starting next year which is going to make L2 (if I pass in Sept) tough.

So I wanted to ask. From a pure learning perspective, is the CAIA a worthwhile investment of time? I recognise that there will be overlaps with other charters, but is the portion that focuses on alts valuable and interesting? Practically, how difficult is the material?

If I end up trying for the charter, I’ll definitely give it its due respect and work as hard as I can, so I’m not trying to start a inter-charter war. Thanks in advance for any thoughts and/or advice. Cheers.

I have it. It’s interesting, a little over-priced, and it hasn’t been helpful to me so far. I think it’d be useful to someone who works for an endowment, pension, fund of funds, ect… but not for someone who analyzes the stocks and bonds themselves (maybe someone could argue you’re studying market participants, I dunno…) I don’t think it was that difficult but I did dedicate a lot of time per level.

If you’d like to dig deeper and form your own independent opinion, I would go on linkedin and look up people who have it and see if you want to do what they do. I’d also go into the job boards and search for “CAIA” to see if the jobs that show up are what you want to do. If I did that before I got mine, I don’t think I would have gone for it, tbh.