How many hours to make it though Schweser notes

I just decided to do March exam. I received CFA charter about 10 years ago, and using Schweser only for each level worked well for me.

Unless these books are bigger than the CFA Schweser books, it appears there would be much less to cover (based on three Schweser books) - is this correct? Studying at this stage in my life will be more challenging than it was ten years ago - I work a lot more hours and have a family now. I figure for that reason doing Schweser instead of the Wiley textbook (which appears to be about 1000 pages) makes sense - not to mention it worked for CFA.

Maybe another way to put it is for those who have studied for CFA exams, about how much study time do you think this exam warrants in comparison. Is it 100%? 70%?

I targeted the 200 hours for each level, but realistically probably did 150-175. Granted, I am also studying the CFA curriculum as well and there is some overlap.

I would shoot for the 200 to be safe. Go through the curriculum once and then hammer on the practice problems; similar to the CFA. That is what worked for me.

Good luck!

CAIA is about half the amount of CFA books (page-wise). My partner has a CFA and FRM and whenever I bring up CAIA, he’s familiar with 99% of what I’m talking about. CAIA, according to him, would be about half to two-thirds the study time as CFA. I’ve heard that one strategy is to work backwards - Since you are registered and presumably going to use Schweser, look through the practice exam and the CAIA mock exam (on the website, available once you register). If the concepts are familiar and you put up a decent score, maybe you won’t need much study time. Take a practice exam and then focus on the weak areas. With Schweser exams, you can just take half of an exam (100 questions, but covering all topics). That should give you a sense of how much you need to study. Good luck!