From Real Estate Broker To Real Estate Investment, CAIA Or CFA?

Hey All,

Thank you for your time reading this. Your constructive feedback here would mean a lot in shaping my future.

I graduated with a non-finance degree. I’ve been working as a real estate broker / salesperson, where my duties are marketing, networking and sales.

I intend to start a real estate development company , and develop properties in the future.

While working as a realtor, I’ve learnt sales and marketing skills, and I’m now looking to switch job to gain network and experience in the financial side of real estate, that would directly be useful for when i start the company.

To do that, I think real estate investment role would be ideal (correct me if I’m wrong). And to land that job, i think my 3 to 4 years experience in real estate would be helpful, but I’m lacking a finance education, and now I’m torn between CAIA and CFA.

So my question is,

1) Should I go for CAIA or CFA?

2) Is real estate investment position in a PE a good place to gain financial knowledge and network that would later be helpful in starting a real estate development company?

Once again, thank you for reading, and hope to get some advice from experts here.

Cheers,

dssh

You don’t NEED neither. Just focus building on professional network on real estate.

You don’t mention whether you mean residential RE or commercial RE.

I’ve worked in commercial real estate brokerage, development, and investment for 20 years. I do not have a finance degree. You don’t need either the CFA or CAIA. In fact, no one I’ve worked with even knows what CAIA is. Some are aware of CFA, but don’t know anything about it.

If anything, top developers and investors like to see an MBA or masters in finance. Many people choose to get an MRED (masters in RE development), but if you were choosing between MBA and MRED, always go with the MBA.