CAIA lvl 2 and CFA lvl 2

Hi Everyone,

I am currently preparing for the CFA lvl 2 Exam. I also passed CAIA lvl 1 Exam. How do you think is it a good idea to register also for CAIA lvl 2 and prepare both exams simultaneously? Had anyone simmilar experience?

I have a quant background and working currently full time as a financial risk consultant. I would like to switch to IB.

Thank you in advance!

Did you receive your CAIA level 1 result today?

Caveat is I have no experience with the CAIA yet but the CFA level II is very difficult (hardest out of the 3 in my opinion). I would say you want to devote all of your available study time to that if you want to pass. Your quant background won’t help you much either.

Thanks for your suggestion. Could you please tell me what materials have you used for CFA level 2? Is Schweser notes alone enough to pass with the certainty? As a quant the toughest topics for me is Ethics and second toughest FRA.

I used Kaplan and thought it was pretty good. Focus less on Qbank as you need to practice item set format. Practice tests are the key. Spend the last 12 weeks doing 10 practice exams and reviewing them. If you are constantly scoring mid-high 70’s on those practice exams I’d say you are in very good shape.

Like Arbguy mentioned, your quant background will mean nothing during CFA exam because there if your way and there is the CFA way. I used Schweser during all three level and it seems to worked out fine for me.

Below was my sequence:

CAIA 1: September 2017

CFA 1: December 2017

CAIA 2: March 2018

CFA 2: June 2018

luckily I passed all exams. Second levels together felt a bit stretched but Doable. It was a tough decision and doubted myself during 2018 with the time constraint. But now I have a whole year to study for CFA level 3 and the feeling is great. Worth to mention that CAIA 2 helped in Preparing for CFA level 2 specially in Economics, Derivatives, Fixed Income, Ethics and Al. Alot of overlap there.