No nonsense guide to passing CAIA L1

Hey Guys,

I just passed CAIA L1 and since there don’t seem to be many guides I thought I’d write one on how to study for and pass CAIA L1.

TL;DR – do practice questions, don’t fluff about with the minutiae and guess intentionally

I thought I’d start with my background for some context – My undergrad is in business admin & psychology, I have a grad cert in applied finance, I’m a CFA L2 candidate and I also have a bunch of financial planning qualifications. I am sort of in finance and work in investment advisory (zero modelling/analytical work). I studied between 70 – 100 hours starting around early/mid-July. I know that this is probably much less study than your average candidate and it doesn’t mean that I’m some sort of genius or anything nor am I particularly gifted at synthesising information – I’m actually pretty poor at it as evidenced by my uni transcript T_T.

There are two ways to study for this exam – cram for hundreds of hours or to have a strategic approach to study and understand what CAIA Association are testing for. I already spent the first half of 2018 cramming hundreds of hours for CFA so I had no intention of doing the same for CAIA. It’s not to say one method is better than the other but I value efficiency over volume so here are the strategic elements you can employ to both reduce study duration and increase odds of passing.