Need suggestion for preparing Level 2, as I've skipped Level 1

Hi,

Would like some suggestions on how better prepare for the Level 2 in March 2019… I became a CFA charterholder last year and later I decided to pursue CAIA. Luck for me I took the Stackable Credential Pilot Program from CAIA and was able to skip Level 1… The bad thing is that unlike other people who took the level 1 and passed, I have zero experience on CAIA exams and am still leveraging my past CFA experiences but I believe those are not the same… I am still gathering information for a complete set of study materials then I will be studying 20 hours a week or something like that…

Would really appreciate if someone can provide some guidance… Anyone who has benefited from the Stackable Pilot program and has also passed Level II ? Time for you to shine. :slight_smile:

Sure, I just went through it.

I think if you just work steadily you’ll be fine.

The worst part was the unknown for me. So here’s what I learnt.

• The computer testing was different, and I found that it was slower going compared to paper and pencil.
  • They give you a laminated booklet and a fine sharpie to do your working out on. It was close enough to working on paper so it was fine.
  • Ethics was more challenging than CFA as it falls in the written section and not multiple choice.
  • Multiple choice is slightly harder as it has 4 choices rather than 3.
  • The CIT sections were also challenging so pay attention to it, but towards the end.

rexkicker, thanks for all the information. Helpful indeed.

As for the study materials. What did you use? I see CAIA listed three books (below) two are downloadable (I plan on buying the Alternative Investments: CAIA Level II physical book). Did you use third party materials like Kaplan or UpperMark? How about mock-up exercise ? (I used Kaplan Mock-ups for all CFA exams…)