Move to London?

Hi All,

I am weighing up the pros & cons of a potential move to London in September. I am hoping to get some feedback, advice and pointers about moving there and finding employment.

A Little bit of background information about me:

-Currently live in Australia.

-I have a Commerce Degree majoring in Finance (reasonable grades from a top University here)

-I am hoping to have passed the level 1 CFA exam before moving.

-I currently work for one of the banks here as an Operations Administrator in their banking sector. Prior to this I have been employed in Retail banking.

At the moment my career goal is to eventually become an Equities Analyst or something similar. So I would be hoping to move into any position that will give me experience towards that type of role. Obviously my current work experience does not align fully with my career aspirations, however this is what I would be hoping to achieve with the move. I would be looking for an entry level position if possible into a role which would give me experience for my career aspirations.

Why London? Where I live at the moment opportunities in these fields of finance seem almost non existent. My partner also has the potential to greatly improve her career by a move to London. On top of that I have always been fascinated by the city.

So my questions are:

-What is the market like there at the moment? Obviously taking into account the current state of the economy

-Could I expect to find a job come September if the economy pick’s up?

-What are some good recruiters’s to get in touch with before moving to discuss opportunities?

-Has anyone had any experience doing something similar?

-What sort of entry level roles will give me experience for what I want to do long term?

I would be very appreciative of any help that could be offered.

Thanks

I don’t know about London. It seems like they’re dragging bankers through the streets nowadays…

Isn’t that what’s going on in the U.S. ?