Getting laid off before work starts?

Hi all,

I’m a new grad and I accepted an offer from a credit card company last October during the campus recruitment season. I’m scheduled to start working this June. Is it possible or likely that the company will lay me off before I actually start working for them?

Maybe I’m just paranoid…

Thanks

Is there some reason why you are worried about this? This almost never happens, as it will damage the company’s reputation in recruiting. There was one year (I think 2008) where DB and one or two other banks offered their incoming analyst class bonuses to rescind their offers. That was pretty shocking and abnormal.

It is possible? definitely

Likely? probably not

Thanks for the info. Confirms that I’m just thinking too much.

I don’t have any particular reason for my concern. I just had a conversation with a friend of my who will be joining Research In Motion in a few months, and he brought this issue up. I guess it’s a legitimate concern if your employer’s share price has been taking a nose dive…

I have a friend who joined a bank and was laid off two month later. She recieved six months severance pay. Eight months pay for two months of work.

^ That sounds like goldman sachs

I know someone who had a job lined up but got cut before he started. I can’t remember exact details but soon before his start date his boss called and pretty much said in these words “someone had to get f’ed and today it was you.”

Ouch. Two horror stories so far.

Is there any way that I can hedge this risk? I guess I just have to sit tight and wait for my start date. Would be very frustrating if that ever happened, as I’ve been doing nada on the job search front for almost half a year now.

I had a verbal offer from Lehman Brothers which was rescinded a few days later because LEH had instituted a firmwide hiring freeze. Six months later, they declared bankruptcy.