Experienced job seeker needs advice

I am just beginning my job search. I have 5 years in equity research on the buyside and want to look for a better job on the buyside (more growth, more $$, etc.).

Now comes to the resume prep. A few people have told me I should have a 2 page resume with the second page being the companies I have researched/covered. A lot of the companies are really small and most people have not heard of them. Is it standard to put them on? Thoughts?

Also, if you had to put a price on a senior analyst (buyside) in Toronto, what would they be earning? For a pension fund? Mutual fund? Hedge fund? I was quote very different ranges by some people

This doesn’t seem like resume material, although some people have a separate spec sheet about deals they have worked on and companies that they have covered.

Perhaps you just send in a sample research report for a company you have covered. If there are intellectual property restrictions on that because of your company rules, then you might just do a sample report for a separate company in the space and say that you have more experience with companies X, Y, and Z but can’t send those reports without breaking confidentiality agreements.

Yeah, I know this is more the case for investment banking, which is who I got the advice from. Just wanted to see if the buyside people agreed.

Also, in Toronto, is Vlaad the only worth while recruiter dealing with for buyside positions?

I have no idea about the canadian recruiter issue; maybe someone else can speak to that.

As for the deal sheet… I don’t think that is so valuable on the buy side, but a sample of your research and whatever calls you make that help a firm is definitely something that a buysider would want to see.