Potentialy bold career move

Folks, I am a senior analyst for an european investment bank out of Brazil. I am turning 25 this month, and I am done with all CFA exams, just need another year of work experience We havent had a very exciting 2011 and bonus was very dissapointing, so I am testing the waters and looking for some opportunities in PEs and other IBs. In the meantime, I have kept in touch with a friend of mine who used to work for a top tier bank and started his own tech firm. He always said he was doing really well (smart phone app development), But recently hes been in the media, and I am not as skepktical as I once was. He had 12 MM US in revenues in 2011 and plans to double that this year. Company is 3 years old, and there are about 25-30 ppl working for him. There s been some talking between us about the possibility of me come working for him, as his CFO, responsible for attracting funds and likes, working with him on business plans, doing info memos and presentations to potential investors and so on, and I am giving it some thought. We talked stock options that would vest in 3-4 years, he first offered me a lower base than im currently making but that is definitely negotiable…i think… I wonder if anybody went trought that and if that would be a smart move, pros and cons, if it dont work out how easy would it be to get back to banking and so on… Any insights are appreciated!

i read that there are less than ~300 charterholders in Brazil so im guessing the CFA has real value there. i would stay in the industry for another few years, see what happens. are you in portfolio management or IB?

I have this impression that in Brazil kids start working full time 2 years into college and are basically dinosaurs by the age of 26 with no real incentive to get the CFA?

Dinosaurs at age 26? Then experienced PM’s are what? Sweet crude?