Academic seeking salvation

I’d like you to weigh in on whether my plan to use the CFA exam to solve my problem is feasible. Let me give you the necessary definitions in that sentence.

I am a 32 year old biomedical engineer, academic all the way. I got a Masters and PhD in the subject at a top US program and now I’m a post doc at another top US school. There are way too many PhDs in the US so my job prospects are grim. My quantitative skills are pretty good (Matlab is definitely my bitch) but I’m not a focused stats or physics supernerd like the people that are really competitive in that space.

My problem is that I work in a non-profit environment that fails to direct valuable resources (like my twenties for example) towards a useful end. I want to transition into a business role operating under the discipline of the market. Business development at a biotech company maybe, something entrepreneurial, I’m pretty flexible at this point but I don’t want to do finance for too long. Also, I need to start making breadwinner income pretty much now.

I don’t want to do an MBA or an MFE. Too slow, too expensive. The plan is to use the CFA as a substitute. Pass level 1 in December. Use my biomedical engineering PhD and the L1 to get a job valuing life science companies for two years (in the Bay Area preferably, $80K/year, <60 hrs/week - I have a wife and child and I don’t want to abandon them to work like a Red Bull-fueled 23 year old with nothing but a big flat screen to go home to). Then, I have business skills and science skills and I can get a more family friendly job that will still pay the bills.

Any feedback on how realistic this all sounds would be much appreciated.

Dessie

I don’t understand the bit about “I don’t want to do finance for too long.” If that’s not a typo, then I think CFA is not for you, and an MBA is a better choice.