What should I do in order to become good at managing money?

I am 28 years old, and I have accumulated net assets just shy of $1 million.

I made most of this money before going to college, and in college I majored in Economics and did relatively well. I have never held a job even remotely related to finance/economics/accounting, although I did own and operate several small businesses and I also worked as a programmer in the past.

I’m guessing that my situation is unique because I’m not constrained by the desire to get a job. My primary goal is to gain the education necessary to manage my own assets and maybe that of a few close friends. I hope that someday I will be able to generate 10% annual returns with low volatility. I hope that someday I will be better prepared than the average person when it comes to foreseeing and getting ahead of major economic downturns and collapses. I am passionate about getting good at this, as I’m sure many of you are. I am not against getting a job if it is the best way to learn skills related to asset management, but I am seeking your advice as to what combination of work experience and educational resources would be optimal in pursuing my goals.

I started trading when I was 18, with a very small account, and like most people, I lost money. I’ve since gotten a little better, and I did fairly well in 2011 and I’m up so far this year as well. I know this doesn’t mean much, but I’m just trying to convey that I have some experience and that I read financial statements and I know what implied volatility is and I trade some basic options spreads. But beyond that, I’m an amateur.