Interview Questions

I have an internal interview this friday and preparing myself. (The interview is with Hiring Manager and HR representative).

What are good answers to the following questions;

1. Have you ever had difficulty getting along with co-workers? How did you handle the situation?

My answer would be to potray this as a misunderstanding of expectations, leading to a poor relationship. I work in finance and I have seen this a lot with engineers on site. I have had to organise meetings so that we are on the same page. The answer I would give is aimed at showing engaging in difficult conversations with team members, but with a positive spin.

1. Describe some situations in which you wished you had acted differently with some one in your work group. What happened?

This is tricky, I am trying to find an answer which is not negative.

Thanks.

Fab.

For #2, as long as you didn’t do anything horrific, it’s fine to say that you wish you had done something differently, handled a misunderstanding, etc… For example, I had a boss once that I didn’t think was very good… today I look back at things differently and realize that the context was what made it difficult and not the person (in my case, it was a remote relationship). Fortunately we are still friendly today, but I wish I had trusted his judgement more. It was a learning experience, and that’s really what they want to know… how you’ve learned and grown from your interactions, and at least some reassurance that you won’t be a loose canon.