Paid only $40K/yr at Front Office position.. consequences of switching to higher paying Mid/Back office jobs?

I have 2 years of entry level experience at a firm that cannot afford to pay me a dollar more than $40K/yr but I have a front office role. My educational background includes a MS in Financial Engineering.

I’m getting to the age where $40K/yr simply won’t cut it anymore… it pays the bills but it won’t cut it when it comes to starting a family, buying a house, saving for retirement, etc. Even in this economy, there are lots of Mid and Back Office jobs that pay vastly more than that given my qualifications.

I still would like to work in Front Office but keep in mind that I may be forced to find a new job since my company’s already in a dire state (see my other thread in this forum.)

Would I still have a shot at Front Office again if I work at a Back or Mid Office position for a few years after this one?

wish i had your problem lol

Hi.

This is not coming from personal experience, but my opinin is that you would have a chance because you have a good and pursuasive story as to why you veered off into back/middle office (more $). You could also sell it that the experience made you more rounded, plus it would probably help a lot if you kept in touch with the markets, i.e. held your own portfolio of securities in the interim

Why not check out other markets that might pay you more for front office roles? On one hand I agree that you have to do to make ends meet; on the other hand, it’s perplexing that your front office role pays so much less than middle or back office roles. You might want to do some field research on other FO roles to understand why you’re getting so little in your current role, as it will be very difficult moving back to the front office once you’ve moved to the back.

Yeah, it’s kind of sketchy that you have access to back office roles that pay more than your “front office” job. It seems like there is something wrong with this situation.