CIO ACTUALLY REPLIED TO ME!! Can I convert this meeting into a job/work experience opportunity?

I emailed the CIO of a large global asset manager last week to try and arrange a meeting with them or one of the other fund managers and shockingly I got a positive reply from her when she was on holiday! I have emailed a countless number of CIOs and fund managers so I guess it was only a matter of time.

I am currently on an internship with another much smaller firm and once I am finished this I am due to meet with one of the fund managers at this larger firm and discuss my career ambitions and how I should go about achieving them (at least this is what I had requested in my initial email to the CIO).

This firm takes on multiple graduates each year (I finished my undergraduate degree last year) so I know that part of the company culture is to develop graduates with little experience. Ideally I want to become one of those graduates the company takes on and develops into an investment analyst.

I aim to impress this guy during the meeting and have a few ideas of my own on how to prepare for this. I would like to know how others would go about preparing for this meeting though just incase I am missing anything that I could be overlooking.

What would you do in my situation?

Make her like you. That is by far the most important objective.

If she likes you, and you’re competent enough for the role, you have a great chance.

If she likes you, and you’re not suitable for the role, she’ll help you find something else. At the very least you would have a made a contact which you can tap into later.

For graduates I tend to value enthusiasm (which also means good background knowledge rather than just being cheery & positive all the time), general sharp mind (can I teach this person new things easily?) and reliability (if I give this person work to do I want to be sure that this person will either get it done or explain why he/she can’t do it).

Good luck!