Non-finance professionals pursuing CFA

Just curious, are there any non-finance professionals with a lot (10+ years) of experience? If you are one, what is your motivation to pursue CFA?

I have 16+ years experience as a software developer, as of now I am working on some really cool defense stuff as a technical lead. I went for CFA to (a) see for myself what finance was about, and CFA was cheaper in time and money commitment than MBA, and (b) as a second string should I get fired and not find a software job. Unfortunately, (b) seems to be the reverse situation - plenty of jobs for US citizens in (US) defense contractors; while many experienced finance guys get the axe. But having lived through the 2001-2003 tech recession, getting laid off and managing to find a job; I am sure that this too shall pass. So in a nutshell, that’s why I decided to go for CFA (with the added bonus of getting much better insights into my own stock trades.)

I was not trained as a finance professional, and I did the CFA (though the goal was to build financial credentials and bridge a gap which - for me - it succeeded in doing).

However, I sometimes wish I could remember better what I thought investing was about before I took the CFA program, because I think it is somewhat representative of what the majority of non-professional investors think. If I could remember that better, I suspect it would offer an opportunity to understand behavioral opportunities to outperform.

The CFA really does change how one looks at investing. It tends to emphasize that you need to think of decisions not just on “is this individual asset/company good” but also on how you compose your portfolios and manage risk.