It's that time ! Advice pls..

I am currently a BComm graduate with a major in Int. business and a minor in Economics. I graduated 2 years ago .Wasn’t really focused at the time but managed to secure a B average overall. Figured I would get a decent job. However, that was surely not the case. Due to the economy have been working in the in the marketing department making B2B outbound calls for about a year and a half. Other than that have about other year of sales experience ( have no finance experience). Due to my proven sales record I have been getting offers for financial advisor positions and similar commission based insurance jobs involving sales . Looking to get out this environment ASAP.

Now that I know what I want ,I am looking to take my career to the next level by getting involved in the finance industry. That is where I see myself. After much research, I have enrolled my self for CFA level 1 exam and plan on getting my CFA designation.

I need some advice as to how to get into the finance sector as an entry level candidate , what type of jobs i should be looking for ? and basically, what my next steps should be ?

networking and persistence — you’re going to need a lot of both your chances of getting anything are very slim

consider getting into operations/ support… the truth is that it sucks but its better than selling insurance on the phone to old ladies. search (assistant controller, accounting control, back office)

Hey, thanks for the insight … so this would be a good way to work into the finance area then , by starting to work at the back office ?

“so this would be a good way to work into the finance area then , by starting to work at the back office ?”

Well, depends on your definition of “good”. Most people in finance work in back office or other sort of support function. I wouldn’t say that it gives you a strong chance to jump into FO, but you have to take whatever offer you get.