Small firm vs Big Firm, Experience vs Compensation

Hi All,

This is something I’ve been chewing on for a few months now and I still haven’t come to a conclusion yet, so I’d be interested to canvas the views of AF for an answer…

Is it better to work for a small investment house and garner experience from all aspects of the business, but be poorly compensated, or would it be better to join up with one of the big hitters, be handsomely compensated, but have a slower skilling up period, (relatively speaking of course!)? What would be better for your career in the long run - the over-arching experience or the seal of approval from Goldman Sachs et al? This is the predicament that I’m in (well, sort of - I have no offers from GS!). Perhaps somebody has some advice for me?

I’d also be interested to hear what other analysts/associates are being paid working for boutiques in London (even better Edinburgh). I work for a small investment house and earning £27k + £7k and I consider myself very lucky to have landed my job as I never made it to university, due to sporting commitments for 8 years, but now I’m 28, 1.5 years into my job and I think I’m grossly underpaid given my responsibilities. Chatting to friends around town, I feel I could be getting paid much more at a big institution, but I’m worried the work won’t be as exciting. I’ve done my IMC, CISI Corporate Finance and scored 740 in GMAT (so business school is another option) - planning on completing CFA in next 18 months, so I’m no slouch. It really pains me to read on AF about how much younger analysts, with similar experience and aptitude, are getting salaries in the region of £50k - £80k base.

Any advice would be great…thanks in advance

Andrew