How to improve prospects

Hey everybody, my first post here! I’ll start with a bit about my background. I graduated in 2011 with a B.Comm with a concentration in Finance and a minor in Economics. Like most of my class, I had a hard time finding related employment and spent 7 or 8 months both unemployed and severly underemployed. Near the end of this period I decided I needed to do something to kill the time / improve my profile so I started a MSc Finance through the University of London’s distance learning program. I’m on track to finish my MSc by October 2014.

In January 2012 I was lucky enough to start a new job working for a small mutual fund brokerage. My job consists primarily of reviewing the lineups of funds offered by our providers on a daily basis and staying up to date with market events. I then apply this knowledge to our client’s portfolios and make recommendations to the advisor. If the advisor talks to the client and decides to go ahead with the suggested changes, I then place the orders onto our system.

I was happy to land this job after dealing with the unemloyment for so long, but the retail side of the industry doesn’t really interest me long term and dealing with mutual funds from the outside drives me nuts (trying to analyze them is essentially like trying to analyze a sealed box). I’d love to break into the Equity Research world in a couple of years so I’m hoping to get some advice from you guys.

I’ve just recently registered for the CFA Level I exam in June 2013. I find the material interesting so it’s not a major disappoint if it’s not the miracle pill some people seem to think it is. In a couple of years I will HOPEFULLY be nearly finished both my MSc and be close to becoming a CFA Charterholder. It seems industry specific experience is often looked for in equity researchers, but I find it hard to believe entry level applicants actually have this in most cases.