auditing > financial advisory > asset management: do I need an MBA?

Hi, I am a chartered accountant (well, almost :P). I am waiting for my exam results (for the last 3 of the 20 papers). I have 3.5 years professional experience at one of the big four auditors and I am attempting Level 3 in June 2013. I want to get into asset management. It is my personal conviction because few years back my parents made some uneducated investment decisions and they lost it all. I really want to excel at this thing. That’s why I started CFA. Apart from this personal bias, I find audit too standardized and can’t seem to live with it my whole life. I talked to a senior manager in a big four transaction advisory and he suggested that after completing my CFA and CA, I should stay in financial services audit for 1 year and then move to transaction advisory. After spending some time in advisory, it would be easier to move to asset management. Another solution would be to get an MBA from any top business school. I am more inclined towards going for the MBA because I think an MBA will add value in terms of networking and connections and I have heard good MBAs are better asset managers. An MBA will help me with the transition and will also improve my chances of global mobility. I think even if I get into financial advisory I will still need MBA to end up in a good place in asset management. I am 25 and I think I can afford the time investment. Further, so far I have studied everything through distance education, I think attending a business school will help me learn a lot in terms of soft skills. Even another (Plan C) would be to get an ASA (from society of actuaries) and to have a career in pensions. But I am not sure at all about this. Could you guys please help me make a decision? I don’t want to just collect tags without any value addition. Regards, Obaid