Junior Equity Analyst

I studied Hospitality management. (huge mistake) I was a FA for 2 years and the sales aspect of the job was not for me I am not a salesman, Although I did learn a lot in these 2 years of working, I am currently studying CAIA level 1 I plan to pass in March and do level 2 by september. I know this is going to be a crazy year of studying but I need to do it.

I am keen to move into an AI analyst position, I am doing excel modelling as a hobby, because it does seem that all job requirements, require this skill.

I am looking to start as a junior equity analyst or anything I will polish the directors shoes for them, just to get into a big 4 bank, in NY, London, HK or singapore. ANYTHING.

I have 2 years of advisory experience but in reality it means F**k all.

Please help with what job i should apply for in September.

on your resume… just say you studied Management. “selective disclosure” isn’t technically lying :slight_smile:

but seriously, what were you thinking? did you dream of being the general manager of the local Holiday Inn Express?

Mate I have no idea, I wanted to own a hotel really.

I would rather work in an AI firm being a senior equity analyst.

Should I try and find a job as a junior analyst?

I hate to be a downer, but I think it’s nearly impossible for you to make it. If I were you, I’d focus on getting ANY decent job, ideally one related to finance/business. You are rattling off desirable jobs, but you don’t seem to grasp how competitive they are.

If you are really passionate about equity investing, you need to keep pursuing that on the side, regardless of what your day job is. Study stocks, post ideas on forums, invest your own money. Focus on becoming really f**ing good at it.

As I said I will do anything in a bank and then show reports and what not. Even if it is not my job.