Willing to Pay $$ to get an Unpaid Internship... NYC area/nearby Jersey/CT

It seems like a lot of you have really interesting jobs in financial services… whether it be equity research, fixed income, risk management, asset management, business valuation, etc…

I was wondering if your firm has any internship programs available, or if you are high enough in your firm that you can personally create a need for an intern or assistant?

For starters, I figure I can pay you or your firm $5000 for an open ended internship, where I can both learn and contribute to your daily activities and projects, etc, and you don’t have to pay me anything.

I have several years of financial services experience, an MBA, and of course, I am progressing towards the CFA designation.

If anything, you’ll be $5000 richer, and you don’t have to pay for a pre-mba or college kid from wherever…

thanks!

Probably a good idea to describe the kinds of things you can do or have experience doing.

Hope you find something.

Your offer sounds nice but it’s not that firms are too cheap to pay – it’s just that they need to know your quality of work experience before hiring you. If I’m a hiring manager, I’m most worried about training employees (i.e. will they require a lot of my time and bandwidth?) and about their reliability (i.e. can I trust the work that they do?). Ability to pay is one of the things I’m least concerned about, so I agree with bchadwick – there must be something in the way you’re representing your skills that is unfortunately preventing you from gaining traction.

The other thing is that you seem to lack focus. You’ve mentioned a bunch of capital markets/security analysis roles, but what do you REALLY want to do? I don’t know you from Adam so I’m not in a position to critique, but it’s possible that you’re making yourself too open to too many things so that when you actually get in front of a hiring manager, they don’t feel that confident in bringing you on board.