A CFA (un)success(ful) story

So feeling really down at the moment. I am a CFA charterholder and just cant land a job to save myself.

I have 5 years experience in financial analytical roles, doing lots of valuations, credit analysis and other financial modelling work at 2 big4 firms.

Now, back in Australia and cant land a gig. Its been 3 months. I know most will say thats not very long, but I wouldve thought itd be a bit easier with my experience.

Thinking of starting up my own thing. Does anyone know how hard it would be to do valuations or perhaps equity research and get into companies and sell this to them?

Is it possible for you to leave Australia?

Doing your own thing is always harder than working for the man. That’s why I’m not doing my own thing now, though I’d like to at some point.

I think you could have some success doing the financial anlaysis/modelling type stuff for corporates. I say that because I know and work with people that do. I don’t have experience on the ER/valuations side to really comment on that line of work, but I’d guess that would be harder to go solo with.

Certainly something I’ve been considering but the golden handcuffs keep me in my little cube plugging away each day. :slight_smile:

so OP, you’ve been out of work for only 3 months? That’s not too long a time to be honest

Extremely difficult if you don’t have a track record of making good calls. There’s a reason why many companies that invest in hedge funds require a three year track record. In your situation, you not only have to put together some insightful stock picks but you will also have to pitch your stuff aggressively. Many people have no idea how hard it is to be a good stock picker. I think your best bet is to get on somewhere with a steady income and probably you have to change the way you’re networking. Trying to start your own research biz is only a good idea if you have money saved up and a strong rolodex of contacts to begin with.