Working at a Small Hedge Fund

HI All,

I have an interview coming up with a very small hedge fund. What are some of the key questions I need to be asking about the fund and what should be my expectation for the type of role I would be playing in the fund given my background. I really havent been told much about the role, just that they find my background appearling.

A little about me, I have about 7 years total work experience in accounting, valuation of intangibles and capital regulation in an investment bank, and financial reporting. Currently on L3 of CFA.

For more background on the fund, it has about $400mm AUM, less than 10 total investors, and is about a 12 man shop. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

You need to justify why you want to work at a relatively small company. While the upside might be high if they grow, the risks are also more significant compared to those of working for a larger company.

Also, since they only have 12 people, they might not have anyone to train you in the job. You must show that you understand the role and have ideas on how to grow and enhance the position. So, ask some questions like “how do you currently do X”, “have you considered this other method”, etc. Obviously, you should do as much research as possible before the interview.

Good luck.

$400mm is not a “very small hedge fund” – very small is under $50. At $100mm you have to file a 13F which makes you at least “sort of legit” and $400 is way past that. Also, at the industry standard of 1.5-2% management fees, that is $6-8mm as an operating budget.

A 12 person team is fairly large for a hedge fund as well.