CFA + Free MBA?

So I passed Level 3 in December and need to wait a few months for four years of work experience. I work in Finance for a large bank and was recently offered a full graduate assistantship at a top 25 MBA program. I’ve seen a lot of discussion about CFA versus MBA, but what about CFA plus a free MBA? It seems like an attractive opportunity, but I’ll miss out on lost wages and am not totally sure an MBA will add enough value to my career seeing that I’ll be a CFA charterholder as well.

Just looking for thoughts or advice from the AF community. Cheers

Top 25 MBA for free? I’d do it.

Nope. Only top 2 MBAs are worth it. Don’t waste your time.

And people will still raise an eyebrow when they see #2 on your resume…

Thanks geo - it’s nice getting a real answer. If anyone has a better suggestion of somewhere to ask this question, I’m all ears.

I would also do the MBA for free. Certainly you are missing out on some wages, but the chance to be a full time student without any tuition costs sounds like a great opportunity.

Real Answer? There was never a real question asked… GO FOR THE MBA! I’m glad I have my MBA, but it would be the bee’s knees if I also still had the bank I paid for it.

“It seems like an attractive opportunity, but I’ll miss out on lost wages” - What are you missing, 2 years maybe? Unless you are making CFAvsMBA’s manager’s king of the world salary (see “Deep Thoughts” thread) the future earning potential of the MBA far outweigh two years’ salary. That’s like a kid in high school saying I don’t want to miss out on 4 years of pay by going to college.

“am not totally sure an MBA will add enough value to my career seeing that I’ll be a CFA charterholder as well” -