Right out of college..

Hi,

I’m currently in my final semester of Aerospace Engineering in India and am preparing for FRM and CFA Level one this May/June.

I’ve already heard a lot of criticism about my jumping ships but I’ve decided on pursuing finance studies. Either ways, the only opportunities readily available in India currently for engineers without a masters and no experience is in the IT sector, which is neither my specialty, nor of my interest.

What are my options with level one of these exams and a Bachelors in Engineering? I’d be open to trainee positions as well.

Thank You.

hacksaw time

Be an engineer kid. Finance is a dying industry.

No kidding. Though India’s definition of engineer and how that all shakes out seems to be substantially different than over on our side of the pond.

Amen!

I was recently rejected by amazon for a job that requires me to work odd hour and weekends, had a terrible profile and paid me $1/hour. Talk about a dying industry. Engineering sector is heavily stagnated and IT and BPO services are our only options.

Actively search for jobs while studying. work experience is important even if it means working in small scale startup firms

Thanks.

I’m starting to think India has a much different definition of engineer than we have here. Engineers aren’t working for $1/hour here, nor are they generally unemployed unless by choice.

New grad engineers where I’m at are making $85-90k a year no problem. Finance kids don’t see that unless they are one of the elite few that make it into i-banking (then they work 3x the hours of the engineers). Engineering is a ticket to a comfortable lifestyle that’s in high demand here.

Dafuq!? $1/hr

^ Exactly. That’s why I don’t think an engineer in India = engineer here.

Either that or their infrastructure is all designed by $1 an hour people. Want to drive on a bridge over there?

Amazon in bangalore? There are BCom Grad’s applying for that job…why would you apply for it?