Asset Allocation Analyst

Hi All,

Question is related to the activites of an Asset Allocation Analyst. I’ve just recently started looking into these opportunities and my general take is that you do macro level analysis versus in an equity reserach postion there would be a lot more micro analysis (company level) involved.

Can anyone give some insight into the day-to-day or typical career path? Any color that people could provide would be great.

As an FYI, my background is finance and accounting major, MSA, CPA, Big 4 audit (3 years) to consulting firm (technical accounting, modeling, valuation, corp finance, etc). Sitting for Leve II CFA in June. I’m 26. Looking to transition to pure valuation, ER, or asset allocation role.

Thanks!

Sounds more like manager research. Asset allocation generally refers to conducting due diligence on managers of different asset classes and then allocating your clients assets accordingly (based on IPS) either directly with the managers or through an LLC(s) that the firm may manage.

Honestly, this would be more interesting to me versus equity research. You’d be allocating assets across equity, bonds, real estate, commodities, PE, HF, etc. The task would be to find the perfect allocation to maximize expected return while minimizing risk and fees.

You’d also be drilling into each of these buckets to find the best equity allocation, the best bond allocation, etc.

Yes, it is more interesting, except that your allocation decisions don’t change very much. And, typically, one’s opinion on the economy or markets doesn’t change all that often. One advantage of ER is that every company is different, so if you like thinking about that stuff, you get to consider lots of new information with each new case. However, it’s also true that lots of this stuff is a crap shoot about predicting how a company will evolve.