Moved to the US from Europe, career advice?

Hi guys,

I recently moved to the US from the Netherlands. I have about 9-10 years experience in banking (5 years Investment Advisor, about 3 years Financial Analyst and before that some random stuff) and I have a Bachelor in Business from a non-prestigious school. I mostly like the investment world and for a while now have been thinking of moving to an investment analyst role and eventually work my way up to portfolio manager or something comparable. So I’m now preparing for the CFA Level I.

So I quit my job in Europe and moved to the US (Denver) for personal reasons. I’ve started applying for jobs. What do you think is wise in terms of looking for jobs? I realize that I need to be networking (which I’ve started doing), as just applying to a job posting means I’m competing with 100 other people, which really lowers the odds of me getting a job. But do you think I should first look for any job within the financial sector and from there try to network my way into a job at an investment firm? Or try for the investment firm right away?

Appreciate any advice you guys have. Thanks!

move back

^1 just kidding…try to join the local society in denver

What’s your visa status? U.S. citizen? Green Card holder?

I have full work rights for any US Company. Don’t have my Green Card yet (probably Oct/Nov), but I do have an EAD (Employment Authorization Document) which gives me full work rights for 12 months. Will definitely have my Green Card before my EAD expires.

I have already applied for a bunch of jobs, had one phone interview for a mutual fund analyst position, but they picked a candidate with more relevant experience. Of all the other jobs I applied for, so far no call backs. Been mostly applying to financial analyst positions and a few investment/research analyst positions.