Need Advice!

Thanks for opening my topic thread. Now that I have your attention I would like your opinion on a certain matter. I’m trying to understand my direction through the strange world of finance (and, oh, what a strange world it is).

I’ve been fascinated by finance and economics since I was in elementary school (being, at the time, concerned with topics like inflation and EPS data). I remember picking up the Wall Street journal and actually reading it, even if I didn’t understand much. I wanted to understand.

I graduated with a BA in Economics (Minors in Mathematics and Business Administration) into a market that was just hearing about the collapse of Lehman Brothers. No one wanted to take chances on graduates of non-elite schools. So, I did what I needed to do: I worked at a grocery store to pay rent and eat dinner. Since then I had been trying to break into finance. Now I’m here and I’m as confused as ever. I work on the buyside as an assistant to some financial planners and am currently studying for my CFA, CAIA and CFP exams as well as taking the GMAT. I am doing very well (if not excellent) at all these study programs despite doing them at the same time. The quandary I have is that I am not sure that I ever want to be a salesman for anything, at least not on the retail level. My mother has always affectionately described me as a nerd with a graphing calculator and a strange interest in numbers. Particularly numbers with dollar signs in front of them. What does an analyst do? How different is it from filing out forms and telling people what you think they should buy? How challenging are sellside careers? Is it worth dropping the CFP if I plan on doing analysis (or maybe something else) after my MBA? Is the job fun or even worthwhile? What other possibilities are there for a finance-addicted nerd that he may not know about because he’s new to the industry? I’m curious to know what it’s like on the other sides of the industry. That said, I don’t particul