Any benefits of adding people you don't know on Linkedin?

On Linkedin, are there any benefits of adding people you don’t really know?

For example, I am currently a MSF student so I can add other students in the same program that I don’t know that well as well as alumni that I’ve never met. But Is it better to keep it to people you know well?

i only add hot chicks

Yeah, but they don’t add me back :frowning:

Doesn’t hurt to add people. you end up not doing much anyway with people you relaly do know

Especially if they’re recruiters.

Eh…I would say no. I keep getting random invites from people and it’s weird…and I"m not a hot chick…and neither are they…

I’ve got 500+ connections on LinkedIn – both folks I know well and people I barely know. To be honest, I haven’t experienced any benefit at all from linking to either category of people.

It does make it somewhat easier to keep track of new jobs, promotions, etc and have the contact information accessible if needed.

I haven’t seen that much benefit out of it. I did have one of my investors look through my entire contact list and call a bunch of random people I did not list as references. It was all good and helped me get a new investor but that could have possibly backfired.

OTOH, a girl I know wrote to me asking for an intro to a friend’s company and she now has an interview tomorrow, so maybe that will work out for her. She’s a hot ballerina though, so the normal rules of the universe don’t apply, as we already know.

Mostly linkedin seems like it has only downside unless you are a hot chick.

A little bit maybe. But you can still snoop through folks’ profiles without linking to them.

It’s always good to have broad network…Linkedin helps in this.

Adding me in Linkedin when I don’t have a freaking clue who you are doesn’t broaden your network.