Unemployment (sigh)

Hey guys,

I’m a frequent visitor on these forums so I figured I’d give a try. My background is pretty clean and dry. I worked at Best Buy for pretty much a good 5 years all through my undergrad degree (finance) in a not-top-tier university and graduated right at the downturn of the economy. So I decided to pursue my MS in Finance from a so-so university but definitely not a target school. During this time I had the opportunity to work as an intern doing investment research and portfolio management - but it turns out they weren’t hiring.

When I graduated from grad school I was kinda left out to dry so-to-speak. It just so happened that they had a back-office role open at a bulge bracket bank so I decided why-not. Figured it would at least get me off the unemployed bucket and give me some time to work on the CFA. During my time, I passed level 1, and a few months later, my back-office role got outsourced elsewhere with no other transfer opportunity.

So, I’m kind of back in the same bucket again, however this time I’m really looking to do something more along the lines of what I was doing in my academic days, which was investment research and portfolio management. This was about 6 month’s ago and it all seems to become so surreal that I might have fallen into a pretty deep hole that I’m not sure how I can get out.

I’ve been to several final round interviews with insurance and banking companies looking to hire in the corp fin, ALM, and FP&A only to be turned-down. Primarily, cited that I didn’t have any technical skills so currently I’m taking a certificate program in SQL databases administered by Oracle.