What is the most satisfying career in finance? Most satisfying role?

Hi,

So I graduated not too long ago and don’t have much experience in the industry. I love investment analysis, researching companies and making investment decisions. That is what I enjoyed in undergrad. I want to know what is the reality of actually being in a financial analyst role. Is it exciting? Stable? Work life? Stress? I would like to know so I can plan my career path more accurately in the near future. Thank you for any experienced insights that you can give.

“Is it exciting? Stable? Work life? Stress? I would like to know so I can plan my career path more accurately in the near future. Thank you for any experienced insights that you can give.”

You’re going to be finding entry level roles. None of them are exciting, a lot are stable, you’ll be doing really boring stuff for the first couple of years and most of your stress will be from trying to keep your career from sinking while pushing your career to the next level without stepping on your associate’s heels.

I’d suggest asking yourself what jobs do you really think you can actually land. I.E., don’t apply for IB roles at GS if you went to a state school in N. Dakota.

After you narrow on potential roles, try finding these roles at firms with a really good brand and apply with zero expectations of salary or work-life balance. Get in, bust your ass and move onto something more enjoyable within a max of 4-years. The first 2-4 years suck the most by far but if you do it right your late 20’s have potential to be very rewarding with pay and a career you’re proud of.

Additionally, don’t focus on your first role pay. Find something with excellent exist opportunities instead, that’s invaluable.

Thank you Galli,