First Interview in ER (and finance..) - any/all advice welcomed (Toronto)

Hey guys, I realize I can use my “research skills” and find a lot of relevant info on this, but still fun to create a thread, get personal advice to your (my) situation, and then follow up with how it went.

Brief Background:

I graduated this summer with BComm degree, and have no prior work experience in Finance (just sales/customer service). My course-load was very light in last year, and so I took on CFA. Passed Lev 1 Dec '14, and Lev 2 Jun '15; I’m Lev 3 candidate for next Jun '16. Downside being that I haven’t worked at all since early 2014 (last 1.5 years just been about finishing degree/getting to Lev 3 candidacy) and have no experience with extra-curriculars at school (eg. investment groups)…the finance path came late in Undergrad.

Anyway, I have a good buddy who’s in this firm (in ER), and he was able to get my resume looked at, and also put in a good word about my work ethic and kind of guy I am, etc. I’m meeting with the department head next week (not the analyst), as it seems like some sort of initial screening. I have not been contacted by anyone from firm, just through buddy (was told I could meet tmrw or next week…opted for next week so I could prepare).

Apparently they’re looking for someone GREEN (cheap/slave-like?), which is probably why I’m even getting looked at instead of higher qualified people. My current plan is to review major news in sector (Tech), get familiar with it, and research a few of the companies he covers. I’d also like to go over as many questions as I think may get asked and practise some answers. I’ve been told by my buddy and a past associate, not to expect any quantitative type questions, so thinking maybe not too important to focus on that type of stuff in prep.

All advice is welcome! Ideally I’d like to impress the **** out of this guy as I know with my lack of job experience, and fierce environment, it may be a while until my next opportunity…