What is the top 5 programming language a CFA charterholder should know?

Do you think CFA charterholder should learn programming languages, if so what are the top five languages we should learn that will benefit the most in our career?

I think these are the most important, but what do I know since I have no industry experience.

1. VBA

2. SAS

3. R

4. Python

5. SQL

What do you think? Or programming languages are not vital skills, Excel and basic macro is enough?

One or more of these should suffice: http://languages.iloveindia.com/

I work with all of those languages except SAS (I sometimes use STATA instead but haven’t used it in a long time)

I use VBA and R the most, and SQL comes up often enough that it’s useful to know at least enough to extract data from databases (generally less important to create and populate databases, though it can come up).

Most fundamental analysts just need to know some VBA and SQL, but in these cases, the languages tend to be “nice to have” rather than “must have” qualifications. SQL is not that hard to pick up.

Quant people need to know more languages, but it depends on what kind of quant you do.

But isn’t SAS the most popular statistical programming language in the industry? R maybe the future.

What other programming languages do you think a quant should learn than the aforementioned?

for economists, yes SAS is used but not for quant jobs.

SAS is popular, but you know what makes it unpopular: The astronomical licensing fee schedule.

R on the other hand, is free. It’s robust enough that it’s very hard to compete with free, as long as you’re not doing something like High Frequency Trading.

Matlab also sits in the middle, fairly similar to R but paid. They have some nice integration with financial databases and packages, though.

Stata is also inexpensive compared to SAS.

VBA. If you need anything further hire someone to do it.