Equity Research Compensation 2016

Hi everyone.

I was wondering if someone could illuminate me on current compensation packages at Bulge Brackets for incoming Equity Research associates.

Also, I’m coming from a science grad program and I will likely be confined to coverage of the healthcare/pharma/biotech sector for a few years before branching out. Coming in with a Phd from a decent grad program and a really bad undergrad, and assuming I do make it to a Bulge Bracket like JP Morgan, Credit Suisse, Deutsche, etc. and I have 2 years of industry experience, will they pay me above the going rate for a Associate first year and if so, by how much?

I’ve heard that these are realistic pay ranges. Please tell me if they’re too low.

Associate Years: Y1 $150-170k/ Y2 $180-210k / Y3 $250-280k/

Analyst Years: Y1 $300-400k/ Y2 $400-600k/ Y3 $600-1mil/

Then Y4 and on is pretty much 1-10 million (1 in a bad year, 10 in a good year). How realistic is this? I looked on glassdoor and it said that Credit Suisse pays Research Associates up to 400k. So I’m just listing based on what I think is reasonable.

don’t bother thinking abuot the senior analyst ranges, you’re too far away to worry about that

these associate ranges (they look like all-in pay) are realistic only at the top of the top (JPM, GS, MS, etc), AND assuming you went the MBA route. If you didn’t come from MBA recruiting, then whack the numbers down by probably 20-30k to start

if you drop to a low-tier research shop, those numbers are too high and can be quite low, think 110k all in even

What city OP? Those new york numbers?

NYC. I’m coming from a PharmD background. An acquaintance of mine was able to make it into a BB equity research role after a few years of work and I think they hired him as an experienced associate. He didn’t have an MBA either and I also don’t know how much he makes though. But I assumed that these were top of the line pay packages.