Any career advice from veterans?

Hi all I’m currently a level 3 candidate mainly interested in portfolio management down the road. My story is rather tortuous so if you have any advice I’d really appreciate it:

I went to a target school in the US, studied econ. I wasn’t very successful in SA and FT recruiting, due to being an international student and lack of networking. Plus I wasn’t quite certain about a career in finance at that point so I was not as committed as I could’ve been. I’ve spent more than half of my life in the US, the visa issue was merely due to bad luck with the bureaucracy.

When I graduated the only thing I could find was a job at a public pension fund and I was on a temporary work visa. It was a FO role but have zero career prospect and not in a hub city. I networked for a year and found a middle-office role at a very good HF in NY and decided to take it. Unfortunately my green card application was denied and I couldn’t get the work authorization I was expecting so that job fizzled out.

I had to go back home while waiting to fight my case, which took almost another year. During this time I started the CFA because I could not work while unable leave the country to another place where I could work. I tried to find some related experience and was only able to find some unrelated remote work for some extra cash. Thinking my chances of staying in the US were slim I applied to a finance masters program in Europe. Also during this period I did both CFA 1 and 2, now doing 3.

I started school again in September and surprisingly my green card was approved around this time too. However since I have been closer in this area and I was in school again, I started applying to numerous summer programs offered by BB this part of the world. I had big doubts about my success since my CV history has been quite bizarre. I only had one interview with a BB in ER and I thought I did really well but didn’t pass the first round.