MBA Opportunity Cost

Hey guys,

Looking for your thoughts. I have three years of Big4 audit experience, recently moved to Toronto for a mid-market M&A role. I’m a CA Charterholder and CFA LIII candidate. Ive been considering whether an MBA at a tier 1 school in the US would be a good investment of time and money (assuming able to score high enough on GMAT to even apply), or whether the opportunity cost is too high at this point. I’m 25 years old, so still have a long runway in terms of career timeline.

I don’t have an impressive salary at the moment so the opportunity cost based on my current earnings isn’t all that high, but, within two years that may change. How do you evaluate cost/benefit of an expensive tier 1 MBA versus continuing to progress in your career, if your trajectory is already pretty good?

My ultimate goal is to be a CFO, long way to go obviously, and not that many public company CFO’s have a tier 1 MBA so it doesn’t seem at all essential. I just dont really have enough context to evaluate for myself and would really appreciate some of your insight.

Separate question - for any of you CFA candidates/charterholders that have written the GMAT, how did your study committment compare to the CFA program, and how well did you score/how attainable is 700+?

Thanks!

Actually, this is interesting. You’ve done so much work obviously and attained all these degrees and experience. What is your salary, may I ask?

I live in Toronto and MBAs are working for free, average people like me are basically at $30k level jobs. I wonder what Toronto pays for your qualifications.