Networking Etiquette

I am a recent college grad that is currently searching for my first opportunity in investment related finance (preferably ER). However, I need a little guidance in respect to networking etiquette. My father has been kind enough to help introduce me to some of his contacts in the financial industry. Over the course of the next couple months I will be attending social gathers with many different analysts, fund manager and bankers that commend respected positions within the financial industry. In preparation for these meetings I have built a personal portfolio that contains my resume, college transcript in addition to a couple well developed research reports with the corresponding financial models (these reports/models have been reviewed by a credible 3rd party).

How aggressive should I be when asking for potential job openings or internship opportunities? Should I bring my portfolio with me to these social events with the intent of distribution? If you were some of these industry contacts that I will be meeting at these social gatherings, how would react to my inquiries about potential opportunities within your organization? Really, any help would be much appreciated!

I think best way would be to show admiration, ask them their story, then share your background, very briefly, and say, any advice or thoughts? A lot of these guys just off a 12+ hr shift and just want to have drinks and chill, not get hassled. Don’t bring anything, people don’t want to carry your folder around all night. Maybe ask to exchange cards and you can email it all if they really are interested in getting something.

^ good advice. I’d pay to see you try to give someone a folder at an event like that.

There is a myth out there that people can blow introductary networking meetings out of the water and land dream jobs. If you can do this, this mean you probably already have solid experience/background, or connections, and already have employeers fighting over you.